THE BIG DAY IS UPON US

Barnes & Noble has FREE WI-FI NOW?! AND offers red velvet cupcakes at select locations?!? If it’s trying to become my new favorite place in the entire universe, it’s clearly working. The last time I came here often was in high school when it was the ultimate HOTSPOT for afterschool study sessions. Like, it was pretty much the only place where large groups of us could meet up and get dropped off without our parents disapproving. (Leave it to Asians to claim a quiet space filled with books as their main social grounds.) Many an unproductive evening was spent browsing the magazine rack and selecting about 5 to take up with me as a prelude to actual studying, snuggling up in one of those ridiculously comfortable sofas that would literally mold itself to accommodate my body, flipping through my glossy selections while chattering away with whomever was around me, and finally opening my backpack, grabbing a textbook and attempting to cram some information in my reluctant brain 30 minutes before store closing. Good times. I distinctly remember coming up the escalator one night to see half my Biology class sprawled out on the floor next to the bookshelves because all the other tables were occupied and doing last-minute studying for our exam the next day. So of course I flopped stomach-first on to the ground and joined them – if you’re gonna go down, might as well have fun doing it, amirite? (This life motto might need some modification later.)

I got the best sleep all summer last night because I had stayed up for approximately 48 hours before I hit the sack, definitely the longest I’ve been awake since school with its exhausting all-nighters ended in May. I was up until 6 a.m. sitting in my kitchen blasting my girly pop radio station on Pandora, eyeing (but successfully resisting!!!) the ice cream mix my dad bought and placed in my direct line of vision, and getting hand cramps from the 220 seating cards I was attempting to write my sister’s wedding guests’ names on in “calligraphy.” Which basically meant the first Google image of ‘calligraphy alphabet’ as my guide and an inky pen that took forever and a year to assemble. No joke, there is nothing quite so frustrating as directions that insist on using names that don’t make sense to you – like, “Place converter into nib section. Immerse whole nib. Pull plunger out slowly. Replace barrel.” Um.. WHAT?! (rage ensues) Why can’t they just say ‘Take the clear thingy that looks like a cross between a bike pump and a pogo stick and squeeze it into the pointy end until black stuff that looks like you might be able to scribble on a paper with drips out accordingly.’ See, isn’t that better? I should be a professional instructor. Payment in the form of frosted pastries, obvi.

Where was I going with this? Oh right, so my sister left me all by my lonesome to toil like a Chinese sweatshop slave while she pranced off with cucumbers on her face for her royal slumber. Just kidding (not about the cucumbers), she told me not to stay up late and that I could finish the next day, but mindless tasks to me are pretty much like my blood to mosquitoes. Or napping to a 15 min+ car ride. Or COMPLETELY IRRESISTIBLE is what I was aiming for. So I stuck with it like a trooper till dawn and I got the ink stains and swelled finger callous to prove it! Perhaps I should have rewarded myself with aforementioned ice cream mix. Aaaanyway, it’s been cute seeing my family seated around the table with my dad wielding a ruler and knife to painstakingly cut out the ceremony programs then pulling on his toolman gloves to hole-punch them in bulk, my mom gluing the sheets together, my sister trying to decipher my mom’s Romanization of the names of all our foreign relatives to type on the seating chart, and me still trying to figure out how that stupid useless pen works. We’re a well-oiled wedding production machine, I tell you!

Sad to say, however, my sister and I have pretty much given up on the workout DVDs we’ve been sporadically doing throughout the summer. Whereas other people might get a final burst of motivation in the week before they walk down the aisle in form-fitting gowns, we firmly stand our ground and say NO to exercise. “Honestly, what’s the point? We still look the same,” my sister reassures me. So we wave a happy goodbye to “TV’s Toughest Trainer” Jillian Michaels and the 30-Day Shred, which really should have a more cautionary subtitle about what you’re in for. Oh I don’t know, something like I Will Pummel You To the Ground and Continue To Kick Your Ass Mercilessly While You Convulse in Pain? But I guess that’s kind of a mouthful. In all honesty though, I highly recommend workout videos to those who aren’t one of those dedicated, consistent cardio-freaks that go running every day (and I mean that in a nice, how-do-you-do-it?!? way), because it’s kind of like having an onscreen trainer who concentrates on burning max calories in a limited amount of time and helps you figure out what the heck you’re actually supposed to do with those free weights. The last time we did a Jillian Level 3 workout, we were so physically pooped that I didn’t even think twice about grabbing a box of munchkins for us to scarf down on our way to church. I mean, everyone knows you only exercise so you can eat the same amount later and not feel as guilty about it.

A peek into our home, 72 hours before the BIG DAY and Bridezilla’s debut. Muhaha, I jest! She’s been quite peaceful.

JUST A SLIVER! Any more and my sister might murder me.

JUST A SLIVER! Any more and my sister might murder me.

Hers covered, mine revealed.

Hers covered, mine revealed.

Mom's traditional attire!

Mom's traditional attire.

Me hard at work, thanks very much.

Me hard at work, thanks very much.

The programs we labored over.

The programs we labored over.

CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S REALLY HAPPENING.

CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S REALLY HAPPENING.

Tonight marks the the start of the influx of our 847320478 relatives into the Lee household and lemme tell ya, ain’t no family that reunites like we do. Still 2 days before the actual event but I can safely say that it is officially time to PARTY!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “THE BIG DAY IS UPON US

  1. Grace says:

    Awwww, this entry is making me tear up. WHY? Congratulate your sister for me. I’m her #1 fan LOL just kidding. I hope you didn’t tell her about the car ride from Long Branch to home…..

    Anyways, everything looks so nice. Your family is the cutest. Even with your barrage of complaints back in high school about your parents being annoying, I always thought the Lee household was the most fun and cutest of all our friends 🙂

    I really enjoyed reading your entry, as is the usual case. Have a great weekend. And I don’t think there’s any point in warning you not to mess up during the whole ceremony, because that would’ve happened by now. JKjk. Haha. See you arounddddd. Let’s meet up even if just for a lil bit before you head off to France and get whisked away by some hot European guy. BYE!!! ❤

  2. three cheries says:

    hahahhaa a chinese sweatshop slave!!! too true, too true, YOU WRITE THAT CALLIGRAPHY! and make sure all the letters look the same!

  3. three cheries says:

    oh nuts! i wrote it with the three cheries account! this is JENNY CHENG.

  4. Melissa says:

    yea…CHINESE?!?! sweat shops???…i am pretty sure there are other sweat shops besides the chinese haha

    so exciting though!! i can’t wait for my sisters to get married so i can be in the same situation as you are right now. excitement and exhaustion. actually i think i’ll refuse to help them labor haha jk. hope you have fun and best wishes for your sister 🙂 hope you have an awesome time in frace too! use that french we learned!

  5. Sarah says:

    oh right. i realize in hindsight my sweatshop comment could be misconstrued as offensive.. quite un-PC of me! i only chose the chinese b/c i’m assuming they’re who i most resemble and have been mistaken for often.

  6. mistertc says:

    rofl so should I do the same with Korean sweat shops?

Leave a Reply

